Escape in Florida
Florida Statute §944.40, states that a prisoner can be charged with Escape if they attempt an escape or escape from legal confinement or if they attempt an escape or escape while being transported from or to a location where they are to be legally confined.
In the state of Florida, an Escape charge is a felony of the Second Degree. The court may impose any of these following penalties in any combination:
Fine not exceeding $10000
Probation period not exceeding 15 years
Imprisonment period not exceeding 15 years
Applicable Specific Defenses
For a prisoner to be charged with escape, a legal arrest must first have been made. However, a person who has only been detained over the course of an investigation is not considered to have been arrested, even if they're in handcuffs.
Contact Criminal Defense Lawyer Larry Avallone
If you've been charged or arrested in the Daytona Beach area, contact Larry Avallone, who is an expert Criminal Defense Lawyer in Volusia County. My initial consultation is free. I am ready to provide legal advice regarding the steps that are to be taken next in your case.