Child Neglect in Florida
Florida Statute §827.03(2)(d), states that when a caregiver neglects a child willfully or in a negligent way, it is considered to be Child Neglect.
Child Neglect happens when caregivers fail to give a child the essential services, supervision, and care that are required for maintaining the child's mental or physical health. It is also said to take place when the caregiver fails to act reasonably enough to prevent the child from being exploited, neglected, or abused by another individual.
A case charging the defendant with Child Neglect could include single or multiple instances of the same misbehavior.
Child neglect might include a single omission or incident or repeated conduct that causes, or is reasonably expected to cause serious mental or physical damage or place the child in a state of abject risk. Similarly, child neglect may also include the failure of a caregiver to act reasonably enough to prevent the child from being exploited, neglected, or abused by another individual.
For the purposes of this law, a person who is below 18 is considered to be a child. Individuals who are responsible for handling a child's welfare, like her teachers, parents, or other adult household members are considered caregivers as per this law.
Child Neglect penalties are dependent on whether the incident or multiple incidents of child neglect has resulted in permanent disfigurement, grievous bodily harm, or permanent disability.
Child Neglect without Great Bodily Harm, Permanent Disability, or Permanent Disfigurement
This offense is a Felony of the Third Degree within the state of Florida. The court may impose any of these following penalties in any combination:
Fine not exceeding $5000
Probation period not exceeding 5 years
Imprisonment sentence not exceeding 5 years
An imprisonment sentence not exceeding a statutory maximum period of 5 years may be imposed on the person conviceted under this statute.
Child Neglect Causing Great Bodily Harm, Permanent Disability, or Permanent Disfigurement
This offense is a Felony of the Second Degree in Florida. The court may impose any of these following penalties in any combination:
Fine not exceeding $10000
Probation Period not exceeding 15 years
Imprisonment sentence not exceeding 15 years
Contact Criminal Defense Lawyer Larry Avallone.
If you've been charged or arrested in the Daytona Beach area, contact Larry Avallone, who is an expert Criminal Defense Lawyer in Volusia County. My initial consultation is free. I am ready to provide legal advice regarding the next steps in your case.