DUI Penalties 2017-03-29T15:41:57+00:00

Penalties You Could Face for a First DUI, Second DUI or Third DUI in Florida

DUI charges and penalties in Florida are extremely tough, and defending them successfully requires someone who has the knowledge and experience. Avallone Law P.A has the resources and skills to work with you so that you are not subject to the full extent of the penalties for drunk driving.

Penalties for DUI in Florida

There are various penalties for DUI in Florida, and they depend on factors such as who was in the car with you and whether or not you had a previous DUI. Jail time, fines, probation, classes, and license suspension are all possible penalties for a DUI in Florida. Here is a breakdown of the types of penalties you could face for a first, second, or third DUI offense in Florida.

First Offense DUI

A misdemeanor with penalties that include:

  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • 1 year probation (combined with imprisonment)
  • $250 to $500 fine
  • 6 months to 1 year license suspension
  • Community service (at least 50 hours)
  • Substance abuse course (DUI school)
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days

First Offense DUI, Enhanced Penalties

A DUI with a BAC over .15 or accompanied by a minor in the vehicle include the above penalties with these changes:

  • Up to 9 months imprisonment
  • $1000 to $2000 fine
  • Interlock Ignition Device on all vehicles for up to 6 months

Second Offense DUI in More than 5 Years

A misdemeanor with penalties that include:

  • Up to 9 months imprisonment
  • Up to 1 year probation
  • $500 to $1000 fine
  • 6 months to 1 year license suspension
  • Substance abuse course (DUI school)
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
  • Interlock Ignition Device on all vehicles for 1 year

Second Offense DUI in More than 5 Years, Enhanced Penalties

A second DUI with a BAC over .15 or accompanied by a minor in the vehicle include the above penalties with these changes:

  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • $2000 to $4000 fine
  • 6 months to 1 year license suspension
  • Interlock Ignition Device on all vehicles for 2 years

Second Offense DUI in Less than 5 Years

A misdemeanor with penalties that include:

  • Mandatory 10 days to 9 month imprisonment
  • Up to 1 year probation
  • $500 to $1000 fine
  • 5 years license suspension
  • Substance abuse course (DUI school)
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days (not concurrent with incarceration)
  • Interlock Ignition Device on all vehicles for 1 year

Second Offense DUI in Less than 5 Years, Enhanced Penalties

A second DUI with a BAC over .15% or accompanied by a minor in the vehicle include the above penalties with these changes:

  • Mandatory 10 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1000 to $2000 fine
  • Interlock Ignition Device on all vehicles for 2 years

Third Offense DUI in More than 10 Years

A misdemeanor with penalties that include:

  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • Up to 1 year probation
  • $2000 to $5000 fine
  • 6 months to 1 year license suspension
  • Substance abuse course (DUI school)
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
  • Interlock Ignition Device on all vehicles for 2 years

Third Offense DUI in Less than 10 Years

A third degree felony with penalties that include:

  • 30 days to 5 years imprisonment
  • Up to 5 years probation
  • $2000 to $5000 fine
  • 10 years license suspension
  • Substance abuse course (DUI school)
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days
  • Interlock Ignition Device on all vehicles for 2 years

Third Offense DUI within 10 Years, Enhanced Penalties

A third DUI with a BAC over .15% or accompanied by a minor in the vehicle include the above penalties with these changes:

  • Minimum $4000 fine

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Daytona Beach, New Smyrna Beach, Ormond Beach, Edgewater, or other areas around Volusia County, call our office at 386-682-9235 to schedule a free consultation with an Expert Criminal Trial Attorney, Larry Avallone.